Why environmentalism hurts

I’m an environmentalist, and it hurts.

Let me explain. I am one of the lucky people who has been stricken with an undying passion to save the planet. I’m the girl who sobs while watching the wildlife shots on Planet Earth. I get so worked up when thinking about global warming that I literally feel like I alone bear the burden of fighting this global catastrophe.

My mom asks me why I’m so opinionated and my boyfriend says I get too worked up about things I can not change. These comments burden me even further.

The burden of passion

I’m sure some of you can relate to my strife. If you are a passionate person you often feel frustrated and as if you are an outsider fighting for justice. Whether you are an advocate of peace, a better environment or poverty elimination, your passion can move you to tears.

When we care so deeply about something it is hard to separate ourselves and unburden our hearts.

Accepting the burden

I have recently decided that I do not want to be unburdened. It is the burden that pushes me to do great things. It is the burden that makes me want to prove others wrong and make a difference when no one thought it could be done.

Some people think I’m a crazy environmentalist with too many opinions, but I pity those who live without such passion. While they may not feel the “burden” they do not feel the joy in knowing that they have something to believe in.

And I do.

3 responses to “Why environmentalism hurts

  1. Good for you. Without passionate devotees of worthy causes, we’d all have sunk into despair a long time ago. Your efforts will make a difference, not just in your own lifetime but for countless generations to come.

  2. lucienlachance

    If you plan on “making a difference” be sure to know what you’re dealing with.

    It’s nature. Nature is something human beings don’t understand anymore; we bred it out because we thought it was too “primitive”.

    The fact is, our attempts to work alongside nature rarely turn out well. Why? Again because we know nothing of it. Nature isn’t pretty or nice, she’s dark and hateful. There is no justice in nature, because it is chaos. Good, bad, ugly, it doesn’t matter to her. It doesn’t matter to her if all the rainforests are chopped down or if all the human beings die; those things are inconsequential. People just don’t seem to understand that.

    Justice and “good” are human constructions (which vary from person to person). To nature these things do not exist.

    If you plan on trying to save things, know that first. She doesn’t care. She never did.

  3. Well said. I feel I am in the same position. Do you mind if I pass this on to some of my peers?

Leave a Reply

